Name of Mission Kurru Archaeological Project
    Mission No. QSAP 13
    Institution University of Dongola
    Location Jebel Barkal Region, Northern State

    El Kurru is a pyramid field of the kings and queens of ancient Kush, located in what is now northern Sudan. The rulers buried there were many of the so-called ‘Black Pharaohs‘— kings of Kush who conquered and ruled Egypt from about 715–653 BCE.

    The site was excavated by the American archaeologist George Reisner in 1919, on behalf of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston and Harvard University. The tombs had been looted in antiquity for objects and even for the stones of the pyramids themselves, but Reisner discovered jewellry and other burial offerings left by the looters, including enough hieroglyphic inscriptions to allow him to identify the original occupants of the tombs. Two of the tombs — those of the queen mother Qalhata and her son Tanwetamani — preserved much of their painted decoration. Following the practice of the time, Reisner left these tombs unprotected at the end of his excavation. They were covered by the Sudanese Antiquities Service sometime in the 1950.

    El Kurru was inscribed as part of the UNESCO World Heritage area ‘Jebel Barkal and the Sites of the Napatan Region’ in 2003. Beginning in 2013, two new archaeological projects have collaborated with Sudan’s National Corporation for Antiquities and Museums to work at the site, with significant financial support from the Qatar-Sudan Archaeological Project.

    The first project at El Kurru, directed by Abbas Sidahmed Mohamed-Ali of the University of Dongola at Karima, has focused on protecting the site and restoring it for visitors. Among other activities, the project team have cleaned and restudied the royal tombs, begun work on a site boundary, and surveyed the area for additional ancient remains. They have also removed and screened the dirt from Reisner’s excavation, recovering numerous artifacts.

     
     

    QUICK LINKS  

    QSAP News

    QSAP Sites

    QSAP Publications

     

    QM

     

    Copyright © 2013 Qatar Museums

اسم البعثة مشروع الكرو الأثري
    رقم البعثة QSAP 13
    الجهة المنفّذة جامعة دنقلا
    الموقع منطقة جبل البركل، الولاية الشمالية

    الكرو عبارة عن منطقة تزخر بأهرام ملوك وملكات مملكة كوش القديمة، وهي تتواجد في ما يعرف حاليا بشمال السودان، فقد كان كثير من الحكام الذين دُفنوا هناك ممن يسمون "الفراعنة السود" وهم ملوك كوش الذين غزوا مصرًا وحكموها من حوالي 715 قبل الميلاد حتى 653 قبل الميلاد.

    نقب عالم الآثار الأمريكي جورج ريزنر في عام 1919 في الموقع نيابة عن متحف الفنون الجميلة في بوسطن وجامعة هارفارد. وقد نُهبت المقابر في العصور القديمة من القطع الأثرية التي كانت تحويها ولم تسلم حجارة الأهرام نفسها من عملية النهب تلك، إلا أن ريزنر اكتشف مجوهرات وغيرها من القرابين التي تركها اللصوص وراءهم، وعدد كاف من النقوش الهيروغليفية سمحت له بتحديد هوية أصحاب القبور. وقد حافظ قبران منها - قبر الملكة الأم قلهاتا وقبر ابنها تنوت أماني - على الكثير من رسومهما المزركشة. وترك ريزنر تلك القبور دون حماية بعد الفراغ من حفرياته، متبعا في ذلك ممارسات تلك الفترة، لتغطيها دائرة الآثار السودانية خلال خمسينيات القرن الماضي.

    أدرج موقع الكرو عام 2003 على قائمة اليونسكو للتراث العالمي كجزء من المنطقة التراثية العالمية "جبل البركل ومواقع المنطقة النوبية". وبدءً من عام 2013 دخلت بعثتان أثريتان جديدتان في شراكة مع الهيئة القومية للآثار والمتاحف، وعملتا بالموقع بدعم مالي مهم من المشروع القطري السوداني للآثار.

    وقد ركزت البعثة الأولى في الكرو، والتي يديرها عباس سيد أحمد محمد علي من جامعة دنقلا في كريمة، على حماية الموقع وترميمه ليستقبل الزوار. كما قام أعضاء الفريق، من بين أنشطة أخرى، بتنظيف القبور الملكية وإعادة دراستها، ورسم حدود الموقع، وإجراء مسح للمنطقة بحثًا عن بقايا قديمة أخرى، بالإضافة إلى إزالة التربة من حفريات ريزنر وفحصها كاشفين بذلك عن عديد القطع الأثرية.

    اتصل بنا

     
     

    الوصلات السريعة 

    الأخبـار

    البعثـات

    المطبوعـات

     

    QM

     

    جميع حقوق الطبع والنشر والنسخ محفوظة -2013 © هيئة متاحف قطر