Name of Mission International Mission to Al-Kurru
    Mission No. QSAP 33
    Institution Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, University of Michigan(SFDAS)
    Location Kurru, Northern State

    El Kurru is a pyramid field of the kings and queens of ancient Kush, located in what is now northern Sudan. The rulers buried there were many of the so-called ‘Black Pharaohs‘— kings of Kush who conquered and ruled Egypt from about 715–653 BCE.

    The site was excavated by the American archaeologist George Reisner in 1919, on behalf of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston and Harvard University. The tombs had been looted in antiquity for objects and even for the stones of the pyramids themselves, but Reisner discovered jewellry and other burial offerings left by the looters, including enough hieroglyphic inscriptions to allow him to identify the original occupants of the tombs. Two of the tombs — those of the queen mother Qalhata and her son Tanwetamani — preserved much of their painted decoration. Following the practice of the time, Reisner left these tombs unprotected at the end of his excavation. They were covered by the Sudanese Antiquities Service sometime in the 1950s.

    El Kurru was inscribed as part of the UNESCO World Heritage area ‘Jebel Barkal and the Sites of the Napatan Region’ in 2003. Beginning in 2013, two new archaeological projects have collaborated with Sudan’s National Corporation for Antiquities and Museums to work at the site, with significant financial support from the Qatar-Sudan Archaeological Project.

    The second project, co-directed by Rachael Dann of the University of Copenhagen and Geoff Emberling of the University of Michigan, has excavated and protected a series of later structures and has worked to document, analyse, and conserve the painted tombs at the site. The later structures include a king’s pyramid of the 4th century BCE and an associated rock-cut funerary chapel, a second rock-cut funerary chapel, and a fortification wall about 130 metres in length that would have protected a medieval (Christian) settlement at the site, of which relatively little remains. The camp that Reisner lived in when he worked at El Kurru has also been excavated.

    Together, the two projects are also working on management of the site and the visitor experience. The team is developing a walking tour of the site with a viewing platform that will more clearly show visitors the development of the cemetery from burial mounds to pyramids. The missions are also working with the local community in El Kurru village on plans for an innovative visitors center that will present additional information about the site but also about local culture of the village. They hope that this will provide support for local artisans by providing a place to sell their craft works, and that it will also become a community space for use by people in the village.

     
     

    QUICK LINKS  

    QSAP News

    QSAP Sites

    QSAP Publications

     

    QM

     

    Copyright © 2013 Qatar Museums

اسم البعثة بعثة الكرو الدولية
    رقم البعثة QSAP 33
    الجهة المنفّذة متحف كلسي للآثار، جامعة ميتشيغان
    الموقع الكرو، الولاية الشمالية

    الكرو عبارة عن منطقة تزخر بأهرام ملوك وملكات مملكة كوش القديمة، وهي تتواجد في ما يعرف حاليا بشمال السودان، فقد كان كثير من الحكام الذين دُفنوا هناك ممن يسمون "الفراعنة السود" وهم ملوك كوش الذين غزوا مصرًا وحكموها من حوالي 715 قبل الميلاد حتى 653 قبل الميلاد.

    نقب عالم الآثار الأمريكي جورج ريزنر في عام 1919 في الموقع نيابة عن متحف الفنون الجميلة في بوسطن وجامعة هارفارد. وقد نُهبت المقابر في العصور القديمة من القطع الأثرية التي كانت تحويها ولم تسلم حجارة الأهرام نفسها من عملية النهب تلك، إلا أن ريزنر اكتشف مجوهرات وغيرها من القرابين التي تركها اللصوص وراءهم، وعدد كاف من النقوش الهيروغليفية سمحت له بتحديد هوية أصحاب القبور. وقد حافظ قبران منها - قبر الملكة الأم قلهاتا وقبر ابنها تنوت أماني - على الكثير من رسومهما المزركشة. وترك ريزنر تلك القبور دون حماية بعد الفراغ من حفرياته، متبعا في ذلك ممارسات تلك الفترة، لتغطيها دائرة الآثار السودانية خلال خمسينيات القرن الماضي.

    أدرج موقع الكرو عام 2003 على قائمة اليونسكو للتراث العالمي كجزء من المنطقة التراثية العالمية "جبل البركل ومواقع المنطقة النوبية". وبدءً من عام 2013 دخلت بعثتان أثريتان جديدتان في شراكة مع الهيئة القومية للآثار والمتاحف، وعملتا بالموقع بدعم مالي مهم من المشروع القطري السوداني للآثار.

    البعثة الثانية، بإدارة مشتركة لراشيل دان من جامعة كوبنهاغن وجيوف إمبرلينغ من جامعة ميشيغان، فقد تولت حفر وحماية سلسلة من البنى يعود تاريخها إلى فترة لاحقة، وعملت على توثيق القبور المزوقة بالرسومات في الموقع وتحليلها وصيانتها. وتشمل تلك البنى هرم الملك الذي يرجع إلى القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد ومعبدًا جنائزيا منحوتا في الصخور ومتصلا بالهرم، ومعبدًا جنائزيا آخر منحوتا في الصخور، وجدار تحصين طوله 130 متر تقريبا، لعله كان يحمي مستوطنة (مسيحية) من القرون الوسطى في الموقع، والتي لم يبق منها إلا القليل. كما اضطلع بحفريات داخل المخيم الذي كان ريزنر يقيم فيه عندما كان يعمل في الكرو.

    وتعمل البعثتان معا على إدارة الموقع وزواره. كما يقوم الفريق المشترك بتصميم جولة سيرا على الأقدام في الموقع وإقامة منصة للإطلال عليه تمنح الزوار نظرة بانورامية على تطور المقبرة من مدافن تلية إلى أهرام. كما تعمل البعثتان إلى جانب المجتمع المحلي في قرية الكرو على وضع خطط لإنشاء مركز مبتكر للزوار يثري معارفهم بمعلومات إضافية عن الموقع وأيضا عن الثقافة المحلية للقرية، ويتطلع الفريق عبر هذا المركز إلى توفير الدعم للحرفيين المحليين من خلال إتاحة مكان لهم من أجل بيع منتجاتهم الحرفية، وإلى جعله أيضا فضاءً عامًا يستخدمه أهل القرية. 

    اتصل بنا

     
     

    الوصلات السريعة 

    الأخبـار

    البعثـات

    المطبوعـات

     

    QM

     

    جميع حقوق الطبع والنشر والنسخ محفوظة -2013 © هيئة متاحف قطر